Im having difficulty taking my cat for walks - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 10:15 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Im having difficulty taking my cat for walks

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on the forums. I would just like to thank you for taking the time to read this. So my cat loves to go outside. I won't let him go outside by himself because I feel it is far too dangerous. I see too many dead cats on the side of the road and have heard too many stories of cats killed by neighbors dogs. So I have a harness and leash for him, but Its so hard getting it on. The second he sees that I have it he runs and hides under the bed or couch. Eventually I give up. Then he sits by the door and meows non stop wanting to go out. He even gets so mad I won't let him out that he attacks me! I don't know what to do with him! Sometimes I am able to get it on him but then I have a whole new problem which is I can't get him to come back in. We go out for a walk and then when its time to go back I have to pick him up and carry him. If I let him decide when to come back he never would! He struggles so much when I carry him I can barely make it home and not without a few scratches. I find it so difficult to deal with him that I never want to take him out. I really need some advice and encouragement right now.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-13-2015, 11:19 PM
Cat

Your kitty sure does love his outside time.

You could try some things to give him some positive associations with putting the harness on, like treats. He can have a treat when you get the harness on.

Or, you could put the harness on him and let him wear it around the house for a bit (supervised, of course) and give him his favorite food (or play with his favorite toy) as another way for him to associate the harness with good things while he wears it.