Litter Box Issues - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Litter Box Issues

Hi! I am fairly new to kitties. I adopted my first cat in January of this year and am now fostering a kitten for our local animal shelter. The kitten is about 6 - 8 weeks. I'm having issues with her using the litter box. She does seem to use it the majority of the time, but everyone once in a while I find pee spots in the room we have her in. I was curious, will this resolve itself as she gets older, or are there steps I need to take? Thanks!

ARI

Last edited by Arianka Finn; 05-26-2018 at 06:52 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-26-2018, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

This is the foster kitten, Faye.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fotor_152701006507871_1527375596260.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	122918  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Fotor_152683138083452_1527375608570.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	124.6 KB
ID:	122920  

ARI
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-30-2018, 01:55 AM
Premier Cat

Aaaah!!! Such a cute little bundle of fluff!!

I have zero experience with young kittens, so I don't know if this is common or not with them. I hope someone else will weigh in on that. If it's not typical, then it's definitely something you want to resolve now. Some things you might consider:

Is the litterbox in the same room with the kitten? If she has to travel, maybe she's intimidated by your other kitty?

Is she sharing it with your other kitty? If so, she may not use it if your other kitty has left a pee clump in it. Along the same lines, some kitties are supremely fussy about the cleanliness of their boxes and won't use them if they're not really clean. It should be scooped out at least twice a day.

It's not too big for her to climb into comfortably? And the litter level is enough litter for her to cover her pee/poop?