Liver - how much is too much? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-22-2008, 11:01 AM Thread Starter

Liver - how much is too much?

Hi all...

My kitties eat wet food, but I have one cat that just goes crazy over raw chicken liver. How often can I give it to him without it being harmful? He'd be happy to make a whole meal out of the stuff.

When I raw-fed my dog, I seem to recall that they should only have liver a couple of times per week. Is that true for cats too?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-23-2008, 12:43 AM
Premier Cat

Send a message via Skype™ to laurief
Re: Liver - how much is too much?

I am by no means an expert, since I've only been raw feeding my dogs and cats for a few weeks. From what I've read, if you are feeding a completely raw diet, the liver content should be 5% of the total meal, and the total meal will generally be between 2-3% of the animal's ideal body weight. When I worked out the calculations with my cats' ideal weights, I came up with between .2-.3 oz of liver daily, which is a very small piece of liver.

Since I'm new at raw feeding and am still developing my "eye" for portion sizes and food weights, I am weighing everything on a postal scale. I understand, though, that these recommended food proportions don't require daily compliance. They are guidelines for feeding "over time". So if you feed a little larger piece of liver one day, you can feed a little less the next day to even things out. Or if you only feed liver a couple of times a week, you can feed larger pieces equivalent to the size of three small, daily pieces.

Of course I have no idea how any of this relates to feeding raw liver to a cat who otherwise eats canned food.

Laurie
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-23-2008, 11:15 AM Thread Starter

Thanks, Laurie.