Kitty Just Started Methimazole - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Jed

Kitty Just Started Methimazole

Our 14 year old female came down with jaundice due to a liver problem, and this was helped greatly with Denamarin. At the same time, her weight dropped dramatically while her appetite and thirst went up. Sure, enough...hyperthyroid. She started on Methimazole today. Does anyone know how soon we'll start seeing an improvement? She's doing well in other respects... purrs, follows the sun, grooms... but we'd like to see her put weight back on. Thanks everyone.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 10:59 PM
Premier Cat

Re: Kitty Just Started Methimazole

I replied because it has been almost 7hrs since you posted. Unfortunately, I have no experience/advice to share with you, other than I helped save my cat from jaundice in 2006 around this time of year. Most of the regular members were expecting this forum to be down over the weekend, so many of them are probably not checking in. My reply will bump this to the top and hopefully someone with experience in this matter will chime in.

Welcome to CatForum and best of luck to your kitty,
Heidi

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
Jed

Thanks, Heidi, for your help and the nice welcome.
Jed
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-09-2008, 12:32 AM
Premier Cat

Send a message via Skype™ to laurief