Manual grinders - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 11:16 AM Thread Starter

Manual grinders

Hi all

I realize this may be a silly question and I think I already know the answer, but I'll ask anyway...

I am a big advocate of raw feeding and did it with my dog up until he passed away. I have switched all four of my cats to canned food and loved the results I have seen, and want to move on to feeding them raw. Two of my cats go absolutely ape over raw meat so I know it wouldn't take much effort to transition all of them over to raw.

So now, I'm stuck on the issue of a meat grinder. Right now, cash is tight and I just can't afford one of the electric grinders that can handle bones and probably won't be able to afford one for some time (My husband is the only one working; I'm a full-time student trying to get into nursing school). I've read about substitution recipes that you can use without bones, but that it isn't good for them in the long-term.

My question is...would it be impossible to grind bones with a manual grinder? I've never used one and have no idea how hard they would be to crank.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 11-13-2008, 02:10 PM
Premier Cat

Send a message via Skype™ to laurief
Re: Manual grinders

I recently transitioned 14 of my 15 cats to raw (actually, they get Evo dry in the morning and raw at night). I, too. would like an electric grinder for bone grinding, but can't afford one. I considered a manual grinder, too, and was told that a heavy manual grinder could handle bones. Then I thought about the hassle of disassembling and cleaning the grinder every day, so I chose a different option.