So wet is better than dry... - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-24-2008, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

Send a message via AIM to RachandNito
So wet is better than dry...

I'm reading all over this forum that canned food is better than dry. Somehow I've always learned that dry is better than wet, but I read some of the articles in the sticky, and I'm starting to feel swayed. But I've also read that you need to look for food with >30% protein content. I feel like all the canned food I look at is <30% protein content.

What I want to know is...

What kind of canned food do you recommend?

I want something that is healthy, but also affordable. I am a starving college student, but I want the best for my kitty! I feed him a good brand of cat food that I get from a specialty cat store, and they promise me it is good. Would Nito benefit from eating 50% dry 50% wet every day? I just want to know what you guys recommend.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-24-2008, 09:12 PM
Cool Cat

Re: So wet is better than dry...

Some yave said that any wet is better than the best dry, but I'm not sure.
My guys have dry kibble for free-feeding (Natural Balance) and they get a half a can (6oz) a day each, divided into 2 servings (so 1/4 can each, twice a day). I use Wellness or Natural Balance wet. The 6oz/5.5 oz cans cost $1.30 at my local Petco, but I could probably get them cheaper in bulk on-line. They eat about a half a cup of the dry on most days between them both. They are both maintaining a good weight (they don't binge on the dry stuff) and there coats are shinier, they shed less, and there "eliminations" are healthier since they got off the SD dry and Friskies wet that the shelter had them on. I'm sure there are other less expensive foods for them, but $1.30 a day is affordable for me.
I know others will chime in, this is a favorite topic here.