For those who feed both wet and dry... - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2008, 11:23 AM Thread Starter

For those who feed both wet and dry...

I switched all four of my furkids over to wet food a few months ago and noticed a huge improvement in their health. The shedding stopped, and they just look great and act better too.

Three of them seem to be doing fine weight-wise on the portions I am giving them, but my fourth cat feels too skinny and seems to be hungrier than the rest. Financially, things are tight (I'm a full time student so we are living on just the hubby's income), and buying more food would be tough. As it is we spend about $30-$35 every two weeks.

So, I am debating giving them their wet meals as usual and then adding a meal of dry food in the afternoon or evening. My question to those who feed both wet and dry is:

1. Have you noticed that it isn't as effective as controlling shedding as all-wet?
2. Will their thirsts increase again or will the wet meals provide enough water to offset the effects of the dry food?

I want them to have what is best for them but I also want them to be satsified too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2008, 11:34 AM
Premier Cat

Send a message via Skype™ to laurief
Re: For those who feed both wet and dry...

Rather than going back to dry, I recommend you simply feed your too-thin cat an extra meal of canned. Just stick him/her in your bathroom or bedroom with the door closed to eat the extra meal without being bothered by the other cats. One extra meal a day for one cat wouldn't add much to your feeding expense, and it'd avoid any problems that may arise with the reintoduction of dry food.

Laurie
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-05-2008, 12:02 PM Thread Starter