New to forum with sick cat, chronic kidney disease - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-22-2015, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

New to forum with sick cat, chronic kidney disease

Hey everyone my name's Mike and I'm a 27 year old engineer in North Carolina. I've had a female orange tabby since my senior year of college. I found her on Craigslist when she was a couple months old. I just found out she has chronic kidney disease at the age of about 5 years. It's been pretty tough lately as I live by myself with her and she's my first pet. If anyone has any personal experiences I'd love to hear them. I've been giving her subQ fluids at home and her BUN and creatine levels have come down, but she's just recently started to not eat and hide in my closest. I know she probably doesn't have much time left. If I posted in the wrong section of this forum I apologize.

Mike

Last edited by marie73; 09-04-2017 at 12:11 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-23-2015, 04:41 PM
Premier Cat

Oh, no. I'm so sorry for that Mike. If you look through our older threads, you'll find some tips from laurief on how to deal with CKD for cats...though, for 5 years, that is too young imho! For a kidney cat though, I think you'll need to post all blood tests for laurief to see and determine if there's something else going on. And feeding your kitty any type of food she'll eat is really important.

I hope others can give you more advise, but in the meantime, I'd keep looking for CKD posts and look at Tanya's website if you haven't already. Hopefully, you'll still have some time left in your girl. Good vibes to you and your kitty, hang in there!
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-23-2015, 09:25 PM
Cat Addict

Here is the best comprehensive website for caretakers of ckd cats:
http://www.felinecrf.org