Low Salt Food? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-14-2015, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Low Salt Food?

Hi, so I made a thread in the Behavior forum about how my 7-year-old female DLH keeps peeing just outside the litter box...I took her to the vet yesterday and am waiting for urinalysis results, but I have a feeling they're going to tell me she has crystals. I had been feeding her the Hills C/D prescription diet for a couple of years, as was recommended by a previous vet, but it didn't seem to make any difference, and I realized there were no special ingredients in it, and furthermore it was mostly corn and fillers--so why was I paying $80 a bag?? I then put her on Wellness for a few months, again no difference, but didn't seem any worse, and then decided to try the Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free, because it's the same price as Wellness but with less carbs and more meat. She's only been on that for a couple of weeks. I've also started giving her canned food in the mornings, but I'm just feeding Friskies because I'm trying to save a little money since I am buying such expensive dry food. But the vet said that has a lot of salt, and I looked at the dry food in Petco yesterday and they all listed salt, or potassium chlorides, in the ingredients but none of them gave a percentage. Does anyone have any recommendations?? Thanks, Erin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-14-2015, 09:28 PM
Super Moderator

Ditch the dry food and go all canned. The salt is not the problem, it's the lack of moisture in the dry and the fact that cats don't drink enough to make up for the difference between dry and natural prey.

AAFCO requires certain levels of salts in order to maintain electrolyte balance, if the ingredients don't have it naturally then it needs to be added.