First time cat owner - feeding questions - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-26-2016, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Question First time cat owner - feeding questions

Hello,

I remember us having cats when I was growing up but the last one died before I was old enough to take care of it. My spouse's family never owned cats. So we are total noobs.

We just adopted a 2 yo brown tabby domestic longhair from a rescue agency. She is a petite, fluffy, very gentle cat that was found on the streets downtown and was so friendly she was put up for adoption.

We've only had her for a few days. Have tons of questions.

The main one so far... we were told to feed her a small amount of wet food twice a day (she likes Authority), and give her grain-free kibbles in between. We were told that we can just put out a dish of kibbles and she will not overfeed. This does not seem to work very well, she's going through the kibbles in no time regardless of amount and then refuses to eat her wet food. The day we brought her in she pooped and there was practically no smell. The first full day in the house she had terrible flatulence and when she pooped it stunk so bad we were about ready to evacuate the building. I suspect we've overfed her. Once she stopped hiding under the bed she spends much of her time literally hugging the bag of kibbles, as if it was her safety blanket. That's cute but it doesn't seem normal.

She weights 8.6 lbs, which according to the paperwork from the vet is her ideal body weight. A site that I found says to feed a cat about 30 cal per each pound, so this would be about 255 cal a day split half way between dry and wet food - does this sound about right ?

We're gone most days from 7 am to at least 6 pm, so I am planning on getting an automatic timed feeder and I want to make sure I am feeding her the right amount.

Thanks for help !
Sponsored Links
Advertisement