Nestle/Purina - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-22-2005, 11:55 AM Thread Starter

Nestle/Purina

I don't feed Purina to my cats but something on this forum made me curious. In another thread someone posted that Nestle, the company that owns Purina has a disgusting human rights record and that she chooses to boycott that company. I have no knowledge about this. Could someone please tell me what Nestle has done? Just curious.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-22-2005, 12:03 PM

I figure that someone you're talking about is me? So I'll tell you what I know. One thing Nestle basically does (and this is very basic) is give powdered baby milk to new mothers in poverty stricken third world countries. They get free samples for a while and then the free samples stop. The baby then rejects their mothers milk and the mothers are forced to buy Nestle powdered milk formula.

That is one small thing that they do... www.babymilkaction.org will answer all your questions...they do fantastic work. If you have any more questions feel free to PM me.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-22-2005, 12:04 PM

From: http://www.mcspotlight.org/beyond/companies/nestle.html

Nestlé holds about 50% of the world's breast milk substitute market and is being boycotted for continued breaches of the 1981 WHO Code regulating the marketing of breast milk substitutes.

Nestlé encourages bottle feeding primarily by either giving away free samples of baby milk to hospitals, or neglecting to collect payments. It has been criticised for misinforming mothers and health workers in promotional literature. Nestlé implies that malnourished mothers, and mothers of twins and premature babies are unable to breastfeed, despite health organisations claims that there is no evidence to support this.