Kitten can't poo - please help! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-09-2005, 08:12 AM Thread Starter

Kitten can't poo - please help!

Hello, this is my first time on this forum.

Any dietary advice please... 8 week old Elvis is struggling to poo. After laxatives didn't work, an intenral examination showed an enlarged colon (adult size). This has been dealt with by our vet and all was fine for a couple of days. Now he is struggling again.

I am feeding him on pulped, watered down chicken as advised by vet, but I don't think its going to do the trick. I have started using the laxatives again in desperation. I would really appreciate some advice that could help him pass a decent stool please.

Thankyou in anticipation
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-09-2005, 01:16 PM

I would take him back to the vets, and if you aren't happy with the diagnosis, ask for a second opinion or referral. Was the diagnosis made by an xray? When you say enlarged colon, do you mean it was inflamed, thickened, or dilated? There is a condition known as MegaColon.

I also disagree with the diet advice you have been given, further thinking you need another vets opinion. How long have you been advised to keep him on chicken? Chicken meat alone is in no way nutritionally complete, balanced or nutritionally adequate for any cat, let alone one so young.

Do let us know the outcome.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-09-2005, 03:48 PM

I agree...just chicken isn't very good for a cat.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-09-2005, 08:04 PM