Tangled Mess needing tender loving care - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 01:36 PM Thread Starter

Tangled Mess needing tender loving care

I am new to the long hair breed. I adopted my gorgous Oliver from the humane society and found him pretty easy to keep up with so far. For some reason he enjoys splashing in the water dish which causes snarls in his beautiful long coat. I have always been able to gently comb out the snags but this time I am not sure what to do.

There is a spot on this left hind quarter that has gotten so snarled he won't let me touch it. He is a sweet heart of a little guy but will turn and gently bite me while he is purring to tell me it hurts. I even tried to gently snip out the chunk at the end with hopes of combing out piece by piece.

I am looking for suggestions for this problem. I am afraid if I don't get it taken care of in the next couple of days it is only going to become painful for him. I thought about shaving him but am deathly scared of hurting him. I thought about buying a detantling spray...anyone ever try that?

Thank you in advance for your advice!!

Deep in Tangles,
Olivers Mom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 01:46 PM

I haven't found detangling sprays to be of much use. Bathing helps a little with mine. If you can I would just cut the whole piece out quickly rather than cutting small pieces and hoping to brush the rest out.

I am having the same problem with Magnum lately, and am just going to take him to a groomer to be shaved this weekend. The matted fur is hurting him and me trying to comb / cut it out hurts too... I guess its just easier to cut it off.

I just hope he doesn't get too upset going from being long haired to short!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 01:56 PM