What is wrong with my cat? :( - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 11:21 AM Thread Starter

What is wrong with my cat? :(

I no longer live with my two cats, Mittens and Toonces, because I graduated from college and moved away from home. They live with my mom, and she told me yesterday that something is wrong with Mittens and she's worried about her.

The background:
Mittens is 10 years old. She was pretty fat for a while, but she slimmed down a good amount over the last 2-3 years. Food seemed to be the highlight of her life, and the idea of Mittens not running to get food and meowing constantly while being fed is just not right.

Currently:
Mittens, while always rather lazy, has become especially lethargic for the last couple days. She stays where she's put for hours, and she reacts slowly - i.e. she isn't running and meowing for her food. More alarming is that she seems to not be able to eat her food. She slowly walks to the bowl and just licks it. She ends up getting it down, but that means she's swallowing it whole.

She is still happy to see my mom and purrs when she holds her, but something is definitely wrong. My mom just told me today that she noticed earlier in the week that Mittens' urine had a very strong smell, almost like ammonia. She can't recall Mittens using the litter pan for the last couple days (and it's hard to tell who's using because we have two cats) but that doesn't mean she isn't using it, but she isn't going on the floor, at any rate.

What worries me also is that the vet said they can't see her until Monday, but that in the case of an emergency she should take her to the animal hospital. Is this an emergency? Clearly something is wrong with her, but can it wait until Monday?

Does this sound like anything specific to any of you?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 01:04 PM