Hairball Maintence Foods - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-13-2006, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Hairball Maintence Foods

I had recently changed all the kitties over to Royal Canin dry food with hairball control being a "bonus" of the indoor cat category of food. 3 outta my 5 kitties have been throwing up at least every other day. Sure there's some strains of fur in the puke but it is usually food and water...oh they are drinking alot more water but I think that is b/c they are puking more.
About 5 years ago I had tried them on the Iams hairball maintenance and we had the same reaction where there was greatly increased puking.
Is this what I am suppose to expect? Does this go away? I have been feeding them this Royal Canin for 2 months...Does these foods have the same affect on anyone's kitties? I actually started blending it with some Nutro last week and the puking has greatly lessened...my 14yr old was starting to lose weight. Should I give up on these hairball foods?

The love for all living creatures is the noblest attribute of man.

-Charles Darwin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-13-2006, 03:55 AM

How long ago did you switch food? It is suggested to do it slowly -exchanging the old food for the new a little at a time or their stomachs can become upset and they can throwup or get the runs. I had better luck with hairballs by switching to wellness canned food (not a hairball formula). Rocky hardly has hair balls at all anymore. All that puking doesn't sound good. Maybe something in the hairball formulas is upsetting to their stomachs.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-13-2006, 06:16 AM
Cool Cat

Time for a Dental cleaning too, mine were geting sick from the gingivitis and it was spreading to their throats, making them sick,

so if they haven't had a cleaning lately, look into that. there are some Vets that will do it without anesthsia(?sp) and cost less.