Diarrhea on Wellness? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 03:10 PM Thread Starter

Diarrhea on Wellness?

I changed from Science Diet one week ago to Wellness Super5 and today Sebastian had some diarrhea. He's 2 and a half years old and has had rock hard stools all his life. Could it be from the abrupt switch to the new diet? I'm assuming it is because it seems the logical conclusion but I have no fact or experience to back that up.

He seems fine otherwise. He's not vomiting, his appetite is very good and he is his normal active self running and playing and his tummy is not at all tender or distended. There are no other cats here and he's 100% indoor cat.

The only other things I could think of are I also got him some new treats but he only gets a few treats a day and they seem pretty straighforward as far as treats go (no different than all his other treats and he gets these almost every day since he was a baby). And the other thing is he does get a tiny piece of fresh well cooked chicken every day (I boil fresh white meat and keep it in the freezer and every few days I put a piece in the fridge - it's for the sugar gliders but he gets a little piece as a treat every day while I'm feeding them) - also something he has been getting every day for more than a year.

So I'm planning on giving him his Science Diet for breakfast tomorrow and then gradually reintroducing the Wellness when I'm certain his stools are solid. Again, just seems like the logical thing to do. If his stools don't get solid in a few days then it's off to the vet. Does this seem sensible?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-30-2006, 03:27 PM Thread Starter