my pregnant cat - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

my pregnant cat

hi all,
if this is done wrong or in the wrong section, then im new to all this so ill apologise in advence.
well basically my one year old cat got caught short and hass resulted in an unplanned pregnancy. shes into her 63rd day and has as of last night been producing milk, i was wondering if there was anybody on here experianced with breeding that may be able to tell me if there is a certain
time limit from production of milk till labour starts or is it diffrent from cat to cat
thanks in advance and any help would be glady appreciated
thanks, a worried cat owner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 07:37 PM
Premier Cat

Send a message via MSN to Jeanie
She could have the kittens at any time now. The only way you would know for sure would be if you could take her temperature. It would drop a degree (from 101.5 approximately) about 24 hours before labor starts.

There will be a discharge the last couple of days. The gestation period could range from 63 to 65 days. If she has the discharge and you have gone more than 65 days you could have a problem. Call the vet in that case. Do you have a cozy box with lots of newspapers, towels to rub up the kittens once they're born? Do you have the vet's emergency number at hand?

Here are two links that should help:

http://cats.about.com/cs/pregnancybirth ... irth_3.htm

http://www.netcat.org/birth.html