Cat Forum banner

Sketchy breeder

3K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  MowMow 
#1 ·
Hi all,
Was looking to get some opinions on my situation...As some of you might have read in my last post, my little kitten has been diagnosed with FIP...the whole situation has been absolutely heartbreaking..As of now, he is still with me, but his bloating is slowly growing worse, and he has lost a lot of weight. The vet prescribed him a steroid, which seems to make him feel a bit better, and his appetite is pretty good, but he is pretty lethargic.
Before I get into the story, I got him from a non registered bengal breeder I found on kijiji. I know the whole thing about buying from backyard breeders, and the negative things about it, but as a student, I will not be able to afford a bengal cat from a registered breeder any time soon, and I absolutely love the breed and the personality...so please don't give me flack for this.
Anyways, getting to the point, the breeder was 3 hours away from me. So after falling in love with the pictures of him, I took a risk and bought him. When I went to pick him up, I was a bit sketched out by the facility. To begin with, the breeder probably had about 30 dogs in various pens and paddocks on her property. When we got inside her house,she had one room equipped with various pens, and in this one room, she housed 2 litters of kittens, as well as 3 litters of puppies. The room was definitely not the cleanest. As i said, i was a bit sketched out, but the breeder seemed nice enough, and appeared to like her animals, so I brought Saren home.