Need advice for two three week old kittens... - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-27-2013, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Jr. Cat

Need advice for two three week old kittens...

Greetings all...

A little background first. I worked as a vet tech for 12 years and raised several abandoned kittens during that time. So in most regards I have plenty of experience, and all the right equpment on hand. (Actually, to raise these two I added an "inverter" to my equipment, so that I can run a heating pad from the power outlet in my car. No more leaky hot water bottles for me!)

Yesterday, I came into possession of 2 kittens, and the rescue group that gave them to me estimate that they are about three weeks old.

The mother cat apparently had a neglectful owner who ignored a cut leg until it was so infected that it smelled. The owner finally took the mother somewhere for treatment, then abandoned the mother cat and her kittens at the clinic. The rescue group stepped in, and now the mother cat is on some hefty medications, and the kittens were removed so she can get well (and also to prevent the kittens from being exposed to the meds).

So, I have two kittens from a less than ideal start. They are doing very well, although one prefers to chew on the nipple rather than suck, which I have not seen before.

My first question regards fleas. When I worked for a vet clinic, we had a spray-on veterinary product that was safe for even very young kittens. But I can't remember the name, and that was 5 years ago so it may not even exist anymore anyway...what can I use? (Yes, I tried the flea comb with soapy water method, and did catch a few. But the rest are VERY tiny, and fast!)