Any British Shorthair Experts? :) - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2016, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Any British Shorthair Experts? :)

I was hoping someone could take a look at this kitty for me..

I made an album also including his two siblings and his mom/dad ++

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

Does he seem typically British Shorthair? I'm not super familiar with it, but his mouth/muzzle(?) looks a little bit strange - like not "smiley" and he seems quite thin? As does the mother? Do you think he would grow up to look like his father?

Would really appreciate your expertise!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-01-2016, 08:31 PM
Premier Cat

Well, I'm not an expert on BSHs. When I was into Manx breeding for many years, I always admired the British Shorthairs at the shows and at one time did investigate the breed, but ended up with Manx...who have a similar cheeky look. The kittens, and their sire and dam and grand sire are adorable. Very interesting color on the first kitten (that's the one you're interested in?), not sure but it looks like "shaded silver"? Anyway, in the BSH the males are the cheekiest especially un-neutered when they have their fully developedl "stud jowls", the females with less pronounced cheeks. BSH's are a fairly slow maturing cat, like the Manx, and usually reach their full development by 3 yrs. I had a Manx breeder friend who also decided to breed BSH's, but didn't have them that long because she really likes a cuddly cat and they were not real lap sitters, tho they do like to follow you about and be near you. They're a pretty quiet cat too, like the Persian, without a lot of loud meowing you'd find in a Siamese. The Manx were chattier.