My sweet little girl, Baby. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

My sweet little girl, Baby.

So, I've been trying not to tell this story, because it honestly brings back the dread and all those terrible feelings when I found out she was put to sleep.. But it's also a story I've kept to myself for the most part because it's so hard to talk about, and it's so hard to even try to imagine how someone could do what they did to her, and me.

Rewind many years. I think I was a freshman in HS. My neighbor was moving and couldn't take her pregnant cat with her for some reason.. I offered to take her because she was positively GORGEOUS and so close to giving birth that I didn't want Fancy (momma's name) to stress out that close to her big day.

She had a littler of 5. There was only one little issue - the runt wasn't breathing and it took a long time to get her to come to. I was holding her, in tears trying so hard to make her breathe - when she took her first breath. What a relief!

I had to rotate bottle feeding her litter mates and nursing so that the runt (I originally named her Inkah, but Baby is what we all called her,) could actually nurse. It was a long process, haha. Many a nights with no sleep, but it was such a great experience.

Anyhow, I found homes for all of her sisters and brothers, but I HAD to keep Baby.

I had her for 4, 5 years. She was my heating pad when I was doubled over in pain for a week every month, she was my pillow when I went to sleep, she was my best little friend and the love of my life. She was chubby and happy and the greatest kitty I've ever had. I STILL love her more than anything, even though she's been gone for so long.

Here's what happened.. My boyfriend at the time and myself went out of state for a small vacation. I left Baby with my mom.