Missing my fosters - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 09:15 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Missing my fosters

I foster cats and dogs for a local non-kill shelter. I got given Alma a pregnant stray to look after about 4 months ago. She settled in well and would come into bed for cuddles. She must have been in the early stages of pregnancy when she first arrived because she gave birth almost 5 weeks later. She had 4 healthy kittens - 2 boys and 2 girls. I became quite attached to Alma. She is such a gorgeous girl and I am quite teary that they went back to the shelter today. Hugo and Cole are keeping me company but I can feel that the dynamics in the house have changed. I certainly can't have 7 cats. Being a student I can't afford even a third cat, but I miss Alma so much already :'(

Has anyone else experienced the post-foster low? I don't normally get attached like this but I don't usually foster the same cat for 4 months either.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled2.png
Views:	52
Size:	764.2 KB
ID:	78786  

Name:	Untitled3.png
Views:	55
Size:	945.5 KB
ID:	78794  

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	57
Size:	833.4 KB
ID:	78802  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2015, 10:49 AM
Premier Cat

Honey, I know EXACTLY what you mean! That is one reason we do not allow the cats to sleep with us when they are in foster. I have a spare bedroom that is a foster room and they get put in that at night until the next morning - less chance to bond, plus my resident cats don't appreciate the new comers very much. I know how hard it is not to get attached, and I too mourn the loss when they are gone, but then I take in another and the joy of new loves starts again. Try to have faith that a family will come along and love Alma as much or more than you did.

Cat owners' prayer: "Lord help me be the person my cat thinks I am"