Meant to be - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

Meant to be

Hello all. This is my first time posting on here. I have a wonderful little kitty with a story to share...

A couple months ago I was at work talking with a woman there. She was telling me all about how she just got a new kitten from a local shelter and how excited she was to go home and play with him. I admit, I was jealous. I wanted a cat too!!
When I came home, I pulled into my driveway and there were two little red eyes staring back at me. (it was dark). I could tell by the shadows that it was a cat, so i tried to coax her over to me. She cautiously came to me and let me pet her. I couldn't believe what i felt. She was all bones. There was not an ounce of fat on her body. It was immediately obvious that this cat had been stray a long time and did not know how to care for herself in the wild. She was my cat from that second on. There was no way I was letting her stay out in the cold. I tried to pick her up to take her inside andbut she did not trust me enough to allow that. So I gently coaxed her up the stairs to my appartment (we have a back outside deck for our upstairs apartment). She followed me. In the light of my house I could see that she was a cream colored cat with siamese markings. I ran inside to find some food for her and set it on the porch. She instantly started purring and as she was eating it seemed that she was just as starved for affection as she was for food. She kept stopping eating to come over to me to rub up against me--she couldn't decide which was more important to her regardless of the fact that she was obviously starving. She would take a bite, come and rub up against my leg and then repeat.
So, long story short, once I took her inside she had absolutely no desire to go back out... in fact, for the first few weeks, she didn't even go near the door.