my cats - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

Send a message via Skype™ to laurief
my cats

Hello, All,

My name is Laurie, and I'm new to the Cat Forum. I thought I would start to introduce you to my Pride which currently numbers fifteen. This may take a while, so I'll do a one or more each time I sit down at the computer.

I'll begin with the senior cat, Billy. Mr. Bill is a year or two either side of eighteen years old. I adopted him and his brother, Bitsy, in 1996 after their elderly owners passed away. Billy spent the first six or seven years of his life patroling his birth farm, always preferring to be outdoors keeping an eye on his territory. That didn't change when he came to live with me. He spent most of the last twelve years taking care of my farm as he had always done, but over the last couple of years he has decided to spend the majority of his time indoors instead of out. I think that decision is the result of a dominant, young tom who showed up to share and eventually take over Billy's duties as farm sentry in 2005. Billy tired of trying to fight off the stray toms and decided to retire to the relative peace of the house.

Billy is a very tough old man with a very short temper and a particular fondness for making me bend to his every whim. As committed as I typically am to being Top Cat and not allowing myself to be completely dominated by the Feline Force here at Shadowood, I must admit that I do spend an inordinate amount of time trying to keep Billy happy. How could I not? Billy has already lost one ear flap to squamous cell carcinoma, and he's currently living with both CRF and HyperT. Much of my day revolves around trying to convince Mr. Bill to eat something every few hours, as well as administering meds, supplements, and subQ fluids. Through it all, Billy has been remarkably compliant ... for Billy, anyway.

He's a grand old man, Billy is.