My new adoptions: Buddy and Rupert - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-19-2009, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

My new adoptions: Buddy and Rupert

Rupert's story: My boyfriend and I were wanted to get a kitten (finally) and he wanted an all black cat. I've had a lot of experience taming ferals and about 75% of them were all black too, so feeling nostalgic I decided to check out craigslist. Within the past hour was a posting for a found all black kitten that was lost near the freeway. The person who found it isn't necessarily a cat person but didn't want to leave it there. So I took "her" off their hands. He was Mary-Jane at the time. But when I got him and looked at his face, I could tell he was a boy (I was so glad I didn't go off and buy a pink color or anything!) Well despite that this kitten may have a name-complex (he's probably been at LEAST three names by now), we couldn't name him a girl name! So Rupert came to be. He was about 8-10 weeks when we adopted him.

(After a few days with Rupert)

Buddy's story: Rupert loves basking in the sun behind the venetian blinds and saying hi to all the neighbor kitties. One of these cats was Buddy. He had no collar and was about a month older than Rupert. He kept hanging around and there was no word of a lost cat. Well since Rupert was obsessed with his presence we decided to risk opening the door and seeing how they would act. Typical meet and greet for about a few minutes and then they started fighting (for play). We decided to take him in (Rupert was a needy kitten so the attention from Buddy was good for us). After two days of practically non-stop play-fighting, they both became fully adapted (which is surprising for me being so quick, but then again, I was used to ferals!) We took notice of any lost cat/kitten signs for a few weeks but saw nothing. Went door to door to ask if he was lost and heard nothing. So I guess he was an abandoned kitten!