Your college education experiences? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 08:50 PM Thread Starter
Cool Cat

Your college education experiences?

I'm considering going back into school this semester. I have an associate of art's degree in general studies, but declaring a major has always been an issue for me. I'm only good at English and the arts. My love lies with sciences. I want to declare in botany or wildlife biology/management. I've never gotten above a C in chem, or plant science, or cellular biology. I don't know what to do! If I don't major in what I love, why even bother getting a college education? If I major in what I'm bad at...why waste my money? Advice, anyone? Please?

I want to know what the experiences are of folks here. Study groups, facing difficulty in subjects, or adversity, or even what made college easy...anything, your whole college story. How much time you spent working & studying & schooling. I'm considering trying to find a caretaking job while in college, if it's possible to find one that will let me pay the bills.

So, yeah. Advice and stories, please!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 09:59 PM
Cat Addict

I worked full time and went to school 12 to 15 hours a semester. I changed my major 3 times. My first major, Biomedical Science, I couldn't get above a C. Not acceptable. My second major, English, I did well in all my classes, but I didn't want to spend the rest of my life teaching English. What was I going to do with that degree? Useless. So one semester, I browsed the catalog and signed up for a couple of classes outside my major that looked interesting. They were Behavior Analysis and Intro to Social Work. The Social Work stuck, I changed my major and graduated within 4 years of staring school, despite the setbacks.