I sewed curtains today! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-13-2009, 11:53 PM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

I sewed curtains today!

They certainly aren't anything fancy, just a flat panel, but this is something I've never done before! I wanted to make it darker in my office during the day, so I don't get the glare from the windows on my computer screen. I had this bolt of heavy, dark navy fabric just sitting around, so thought I'd put it to good use. I had gotten this fabric on the clearance table back in 2005, for like $2 a yard, so the curtains really only cost me about $8 to make, and they work perfectly! They ended up turning out really good, except I wish the fabric had been a bit wider itself. I wanted a little more floof to them, you know how curtains bunch up when you put them on the rod. But, I suppose, it's such a heavy fabric, it may not have done that anyway. Now I'm motivated to make curtains for the bedroom finally!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-14-2009, 12:11 AM
Premier Cat

Re: I sewed curtains today!

Yay! When I had my first major flare in 2002, I was home from work for 45 days. My Doctor put me on a low dose of steriods and I couldn't leave the house, but I needed to DO something! So I pulled out some fabric I'd had for about 2-3yrs and began sewing. I completed several unfinished quilts, made several new quilts and I made valances for the living room window, three bay windows, kitchen sink window and french doors. I also attached matching sheer panels to the valances to allow in light but still keep our privacy. I had a little fabric left over so I made a sheer/valance shower curtain, sewed some of the fabric onto the gathered ends of hand towels to hang in the kitchen and even sewed a panel on the bottom of a bath towel for the bathroom to match.