Any nurses, advice? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-09-2009, 07:24 PM Thread Starter

Any nurses, advice?

I am having a quarter life crisis, and am very near to committing into a Nursing program.

I will be 26 on the 25th, and I have been working in the same dead end job for 6 yrs now, I enjoy the work(Grounds and Maintenance), but I am a temp. and only make $10 an hr( the most temps can make), and I only work 9 months out of the year(stupid union rules)and make roughly 14k a year. No benefits. I have applied twice for full time and came in second both times, but even then, the most I would ever make is between 20k-35k.
I will be hard pressed to afford my own home working there.....

While I would love to work with plants full time, I also don't want to leave Southeastern Michigan, and I can't see finding a good paying job in that field.

So I am contemplating the Nurse route, it's a good job, pay is good, and there is the need for them. I do have a fear that by the time I graduate, there won't be the need for so many nurses......

I always hear it's never to late to start, though I wish my parents had been more forceful with making me go to College(I have been going one class a semester for years now, for Graphic Design, but I hate computers, I like drawing by hand, and decided to stop wasting my money on that).

I will be around 30-31 when I graduate, my trainer at the farm just started in the Nursing program at Wayne St, because she can't forsee a full time job working with horses(she has a BA in Equine Management from Michigan St. and was trainer at some big wig horse farm in Virgina for a few years) and she is a year older than me......so basically seeing her just go for it, makes me want to too.....I've always felt it is too late for me to go to college full time......

So does anyone have any tips or advice? Know anyone who is or is going to be a nurse......
Sponsored Links
Advertisement