File sharing...... record companies liers? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 10:27 AM Thread Starter
Premier Cat

File sharing...... record companies liers?

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=15040
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 10:34 AM
Cat Addict

The Inquirer is different than The Enquirer isn't it?

I don't know what to think about the article, but the fact remains that downloading music for free is theft. I don't do it. That said, record companies charge far too much for CDs. I bought a new CD with 12 songs on it that cost over $18. After taxes, that came out to over $20 for 12 songs. That price makes downloading free music tempting to even me.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 10:57 AM
Cat Addict

I very rarely buy CD's, for two reasons really.

#1) I'm still an undergrad, I've given up a few of my "luxury expenses" and CD's just didn't make the cut.
#2) You hardly get what you pay for anyway.

Downloading digital music from KaZaa, or <insert p2p program here> is stealing if the artist and/or record company doesn't want their work distributed that way.

I pay for a premium account from Napster, it's $10 a month. If you listen to somewhat popular music you should be able to find a lot of what you like on it. If you pay the ten dollar fee, about 90% of the songs are "free" to listen to and download on your computer.

A few songs are "buy only" in that you have to pay 99 cents to listen to the song, but in that case you "own" it and can burn it to CD as you wish. The songs that you download under the $9.99 umbrella are free to listen to on your PC but you need to pay the 99 cents to burn it to CD.

You can also purchase and download entire albums for $9.99. If you burn it yourself, what's the cost? $11 including CD and jewel case? Not too shabby if you ask me.