hard drive questions - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-08-2005, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

hard drive questions

I purchased an internal 80 GB hard drive to add to my Mac G4 a few months back, and today we finally sat down to install it and the new 512 MB RAM.

Evidently I don't have a PCI 133 card (I thought I did), and my wonderful local stores do not have one. We have to wait until Monday to check the campus computer store or order one.

Anyway, my original 10 GB drive will be made the slave drive, and the new 80 GB drive the master. I will also be updating to Panther (Mac OS 10.3).

Question: Will my OS need to be installed on both drives or just the master?

Also, this is my first time mounting a hard drive (done). Once we get the new PCI card, what will I need to do next? The drive only came with instructions for Windows even though it's Mac compatible.

Tina

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-08-2005, 06:37 PM
Banned

the OS can be on either drive, but your system will run faster if it's on the master. are you sure your 10 GB drive will work with the PC133 card? HDDs are generally downward compatible (that's why I don't know why it didn't work with your existing PCI), but they are not upward compatible.

As far as installing the card, I don't have any experience with OS X+, because I had to give up my Mac--can't afford to support 2 platforms, but I think it should work out of the box. The motherboard should recognize it.

I don't guarantee either of my answers because, like I said, my experience is kind of out-of-date. Is there a Mac forum they might be able to help you?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-08-2005, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

So I might need to get a PCI 100 instead? I'm not sure how to find that out.

Here are the specs on my system.