I got a Job Offer!!! - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-27-2005, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Cool Cat

Send a message via AIM to violina23
I got a Job Offer!!!

So, I've been looking for a new job for several months now. I am a software Engineer, and I followed my heart after college, taking a slightly-lower-paying position in a REALLY expensive area over a slightly-higher-paying one in a really cheap area of upstate NY (I thought I'd be happier with the place on Long Island). But it really hasn't been all I hoped for, I feel completely stiffled by this place. THe company hasn't been treating people very well: there have been a ton of layoffs, raises have been meager... and I am so bored with what I am doing. I was starting to get really disheartened.

But I got a job offer form a company my friend works for in Northern New Jersey! The offer is only a LITTLE more than I am making right now, so at least I am not taking a pay-cut. But most important, it looks like interesting, dynamic, and challenging work which will hopefully provide me with the satisfaction I am completely lacking at my current job. I have been miserable for way too long at this place, and I am so glad to finally feel like there is light at the end of the tunnel. I'm not sure how I feel about trying to bargain for more money.. I feel like they COULD have done better with the salary, but I don't want to bite the hand that feeds me. It's not THEIR fault that my current employer was so crappy with the raises, but I hate the fact that if my company had given me what I was entitled to, then this company would have followed suit and given me a better salary. I think I will probably be taking it regardless, but I would love a bit more money....