Less Oil and Bigger Vehicles...an SUV rant - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-20-2005, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Cool Cat

Less Oil and Bigger Vehicles...an SUV rant

I was thinking about the rising oil prices that have seemed to shoot through the roof this past week. On the news, people were saying that there's less oil to meet demand and that the oil will be gone in the next 20 years if we don't start using it more wisely.

So, my question and concern is this: why are vehicles getting bigger and bigger if we need to start thinking about conserving oil? I'm a happy sedan driver who feels like the runt of the litter on the road, and I don't understand why people feel the need to drive "buses" around. And, unfortunately, those families who buy SUVs to fit the "whole family in" usually only do that once or twice on the weekend and maybe to and from school. It's mostly one person in the vehicle: the driver...driving around doing errands. What a waste of gas and space!

I just don't understand. Why do you need an Expedition or a Hummer (or any other 6-seater) to drive around by YOURSELF? The occasional family trip is not reason enough, in my opinion. If it is for recreational use (oh, yeah...THAT's what SUV's are for!!! ), what can an Expedition do that an Explorer can't? Really. Why do people need such large vehicles (a SPORT UTILITY vehicle) to tote their groceries and drive their kids to school?

While some of us are actually trying to use as little gas as possible (I use 11 gallons every 2 weeks), so many people are 30 gallons every week! Yes, I blame those 30-gallon hogs for rising gas prices! Can we please start making changes in our everyday behaviour to try to have a larger impact?! Just like with too many things, it will probably take a crisis for that to happen.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-20-2005, 05:04 PM
Banned

Send a message via AIM to roseeden