Bengal and Abyssinian breeder shut down (Vermont) - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2005, 10:51 AM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Bengal and Abyssinian breeder shut down (Vermont)

My sister-in-law sent me this notice about a breeder in Vermont who is being shut down - the house has been condemned and all the cats need homes. A vet in the area is trying to find people to adopt the cats, as the shelters are at full capacity, and the alternative is to have them all euthanized.

If anyone is interested in a Bengal or Abyssinian cat, or knows someone who is, please pass on this message and contact Dr. LeGallais (email and phone number below).

Thank you!
ospunkyo

Eastwood Animal Clinic, Dr. Bruce LeGallais

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 802-773-7711

My name is Dr. Bruce LeGallais. I am a veterinarian working in a small animal practice in Central Vermont. A client of mine, 4 or 5 years ago, attempted to become an exotic cat breeder (specifically Bengals and Abyssinians). Unfortunately she has bred a great number of cats but was unable to part with any of the litters. As a consequence she has become a hoarder and potentially has 100 to 150 cats in her house. Although this woman is very nice she obviously has some problems and is finally seeking some medical treatment. Therefore she can no longer care for her cats. The humane societies in Vermont are at full capacity at this time and no one can seem to help out with this problem.

I am volunteering my time and resources to help find her cats homes. If not, they will all have to be euthanized. I personally will be going into the house to select out the healthy individuals and make sure they are up to date on their vaccines.

This is a very unfortunate situation but hopefully with some good old Yankee Ingenuity (I am Canadian) some of these cats can be adopted out to good and loving homes. The house they are currently living in has been condemned by the Dept. of Health.