Purchasing Cat Trap - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2007, 05:01 AM Thread Starter

Purchasing Cat Trap

Hello-Newbie here!

Has anyone purchased a cat trap online? Do you have any suggestions?
I know I can rent one,but I would like to have one just in case I need it again. I would like to trap a feral that I have been taking care of off and on since August. She disappeared for 2 months ( Nov. & Dec. )and came back in January and has been staying in the house I made for her since then. I am so glad she came back and she seems to love her little house.
I would like to trap her and take her to get spayed and whatever else she needs before she decides to take off again or gets pregnant. She hardly left her house since she came back, probably because I purchased a warming bed and its nice and cozy in there.It's getting warmer now and she is coming out more and I don't want her to take off again. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2007, 07:28 AM

I've never purchased one, so I can't offer any advise that way... sorry. Just make sure it's a good size... not too small, but not huge. Use stinky sardines or salmon....you'd have to stop feeding her for a few days, make sure she's really hungry. Another thing we do when trapping ferals, is to put a blanket over most of the trap (not drapped, tucked in at the bottoms and not over the front part obviously) that is similar to the ground colouring at the time of trapping. And never just leave the trap overnight or in a sunny location...you should always be monitoring the trap. Best of luck and bless you for caring about this baby!!
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2007, 11:58 AM
Cool Cat

I haven't purchased one online, so I can't help you there. Havahart is a very reliable brand; I do know that.