Pregnant Adopted Stray - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-03-2007, 01:44 AM Thread Starter

Pregnant Adopted Stray

I have been feeding a stray cat outdoors for about 6 months now. Three weeks ago the cat had kittens in a nice dry location. About 4 days ago she moved the kittens under a very skimpy bush outside my apartment door. I read they move the kittens to distract predators but the skimpy bush is a horrible place with no protection. I made a box and placed it in my apartment, i showed her the box and she actually carried her kittens inside and put them in the box. It seems now that she is missing the outdoors and sometimes when I leave she will be out the door before I even know it. I try to pick her up and bring her back in but she quickly wanders away and seems to forget she has kittens. About an hour or so later she is back and wants back inside to take care of her kittens again. She has done this several times now and it is getting agravating. She is a nice sweet cat but she wants to go outside twice a day and wants back in who knows when. Her kittens are now starting to walk around and play with each other. I am not quite sure how old they are but I dislike waiting around for the mother to return so I can go somewhere. I don't know if I should take the mother to the shelter and raise the kittens myself (sounds kind of mean) or do my utmost to keep her inside. Any advice would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-03-2007, 01:54 AM
Premier Cat

Try to keep her inside.

I have a kitty who occasionally tries to run into my garage and has managed to get in there a few times. She can't get out, but my old car leaks fluids and I do not want her to get into those fluids!
...motor and tranny oil, luckily no anti-freeze...but I still don't want her to get greasy and try to clean herself.