Socializing kittens from a stray mother. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
Kitten

Socializing kittens from a stray mother.

I have been feeding a feral queen for three years now. She was living in the compound when we moved in and found her very helpful as she kept the place rodent free.

She has given birth three times. She had three kittens during her first pregnancy but all died. She had another three kittens during her second pregnancy. I managed to give away two of them and keep one for myself which I had spayed when the kitten was six months old. All the three kittens were very difficult to catch and even up to now, the third one which I kept, although a bit sociable in a sense that you could pick her up and pet her at times is still very jumpy and does not really fully trust humans. She also hates it when I massage her with her flea treatent and would claw her way to freedom.

She gave birth again to another three kittens on her third pregnancy but it seems that mother cat is now getting to trust me that after a week after giving birth she actually transfered her kittens very near my sleeping quarters. I put the kitttens in a big box where she continued to nurse her kittens. I have practically seen the kittens grow up and they are now seven weeks old. I am able to hold and even play with them even in the presence of mother cat who also allows me to pet her.

Because all of them now trust me, Last week, when the kittens were six weeks old and already eating solid food, I used them (the kittens) to "trap" mother cat in a cage so that I could bring her to the VET to get spayed.

The kittens are getting to be very affectionate and just love all the attention I am giving them and have been eating both solid food and a supplemental cat milk substitute while their mother has fast recovered.