Feral with Bad Wound - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-20-2010, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Feral with Bad Wound

A feral cat that has been in my complex for about 10 years (we've known him for about 1.5 years and have been feeding him) recently suffered some kind of attack, as he has a large wound on his neck, which until recently, had a humungous scab, which fell off to reveal raw flesh inside. I'm worried about him, he was someone's pet a long time ago, not sure if he can be handled, and I am a poor student on a very limited budget.

Anyone have suggestions?

I managed to snap a picture of the wound while he was eating (he is up an about, appetite is good, and he sleep on our balcony,as soon as I open the door, he darts. I have a trap btw, and a cage to put him in if I could catch him..

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-20-2010, 01:12 PM
Premier Cat

Re: Feral with Bad Wound

That looks like a burst abcessed wound from a cat fight. Truly, he needs it to be cleaned/flushed and have a steady intake of antibiotics. If he cannot be caught and handled, I have heard about rescuers and volunteers who manage feral colonies using "fish mox" and adding it to small portions of canned food, so the cat eats ALL of the canned food and FishMox. You can also call your local vet to explain the situation and ask about dosing the Fish Mox. If the vet is unhelpful, or unable to direct you to a feral rescue/colony management group, do a search on FishMox, dosing and/or PM Merry (Misst & Tess) for more informaiton.

post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-20-2010, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Ok, thank you very much. I'm going to see if I can trap him tonight, and will get info on the fish mox. I'll see if I can find a helpful vet also.