need feral cat help - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

need feral cat help

I have been caring for a feral colony now for 3 years. but now they have done something I do not understand --

Over the years a momma cat will occasionally leave and take a baby or two with her (as if they have an arguement or something).
This time, two cats had 7 babies total. the mother of one set of babies disappeared, the other momma adopted all 7 of the babies to care for them.
I have been feeding these kittens (all the cats actually, adults etc) and the babies are about 5 weeks old now and cute and fuzzy.

two days ago, all 7 kittens disappeared and were gone for 2 days. they returned about the time I thought aliens had abducted them. I live on acreage and its not like people would have access to them. raccoons show up now and then but the cats seem to tolerate them.
Now, a week has passed, and they are all gone again. all 7 of the kittens. but this time they have been gone nearly 4 days now. the adoptive mother cat has been gone for 2 of the 4 days as well.

all of these cats ALWAYS show up for the evening meal. but now none of the kittens have shown up to eat for 4 days. should I worry about them? I hate feeding and caring for them for all these weeks only to lose them. and why would they leave at such a young age?

I have not had this sort of thing happen before.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 01:13 AM
Premier Cat

Re: need feral cat help

Welcome to Cat Forum. I've never managed a colony, but I have trapped the kittens to tame/socialize for adoption and TNR'd the adults, all of whom were slowly tamed/socialized outside and then transitioned to becoming our housepets.