Need some help with this. - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-2010, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Need some help with this.

A feral cat, I feed outside had 4 kittens.She's fixed now but unfortunately only two of them are still alive. The first one I caught is tamed and fixed and just about ready to find a home. I just recently caught her sister and got her fixed. I've never worked with a feral cat before so I'm a tad lost.

When i brought her home from being fixed(last friday), I left the trap open in my room(Its the only place free from other cats) with some food, water, and litterbox. The first night she didn't come out but when i looked in the morning she was out of trap. Now she's hiding under my bed.

Some progress has been made, at least I feel like it has. Before she'd only come out when I wasn't in the room. Now she'll come out when i'm in the room but still won't let me close enough to touch her.

Should I be giving her more time to trust me,since its only been a week? Or is there some way of getting close to her without scaring her?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-2010, 12:44 PM
Premier Cat

I haven't worked with ferals and I'm sure you'll be getting good tips from people who have. I wouldn't push yourself on her. Just make slow movements, talk to her softly, don't stare at her in her eyes. Gradually you can look at her and do slow blinking then look away. This will help to reassure her that you mean no harm. You have to gain her trust first of all before you do anything else.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-27-2010, 04:23 PM
Premier Cat

Send a message via MSN to Jeanie
These videos, posted by Mitts and Tess (Merry) are wonderful. I'm going make them a sticky, they're so good!

Socializing Feral Kittens, parts I, II, and III:

Produced for the Urban Cat League (http://www.urbancatleague.org)