Scared to death? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 09:33 AM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Scared to death?

"Trysh" and I have been resocializing four stray/dumped/feral cats since January/March 2011. They live with Trysh.
"Buckley" is a sweet, docile, moody cat, male, approximately two years old. Neutered (of course). In March he became more distant we think, in retrospect, because she was picking him up too quickly in the resocialization process. We discovered he loves Fish Flakes and will do anything for them, including letting us pet, hold, brush him. Fast forward to early October when he was ready to go into a Forever Home. Adopters met him October 15, liked him, Trysh went to put Buckley in the cat carrier, and he freaked out. Buckley has not been seen or heard from since. He has limited to no access too food and none to water. We think/hope he is hiding behind the eves or crawl spaces/floor boards or maybe escaped from the house. We fear he is somewhere in the crawl spaces, dead, from being so scared.
Is this possible? Any suggestions how to find/see him, get him out of hiding. We know it will take a long time--if ever--for him to get us to trust him. And any idea why the strong reaction to the cat carrier?
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 10:20 PM
Premier Cat

Do you or a friend have a dog that could show where the cat may be hiding? If he doesn't get food soon, he could well die. Is it possible he made a clean run and got outside? Yes, Buckley will be very difficult to catch him again if that is the case.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Update on MIA cat