Advice for Shiva? (pregnant/nursing feral queen) - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Advice for Shiva? (pregnant/nursing feral queen)

I have recently begun to plan out TNR for my colony, but Before I focus on that, there is a young queen in my colony who is either very pregnant or has just birthed her litter. I want to trap her and have her raise the kits in my apartment so they can be socialized and adopted out. Shiva herself needs a spay, earmark, and release. If she has had the kittens by the time I can get my hands on a trap(Grr why are they hard to find and expensive when found in my area?? Any suggestions where to get one for cheap?) how do I go about finding them? Just by listening for their mewing?

Which would be better, catching her before or after she has them?

I'm sorry. I have read the stickies on here, as well as reading elsewhere on the web, I am just new to the whole Feral thing, and any advice would be awesome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 04:43 PM
Banned

Amazon has a pretty good deal on the feral cat rescue kit.

Most rental places rent the traps too.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 07:06 PM
Cat

if you contact the place that does the s/n for ferals they may have some to lend - you might also try any local pest control places - ask for the loan as a donation to the effort - apartment bldg managers sometimes have access too otherwise if there is a farm and fleet type store anywhere nearby they always have them cheap - sometimes local animal control can lead you to inexpensive traps and most humane societies keep some around - beg borrow and plead is all part of the tnr gig. You are doing awesome things!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat