Feral, barn cat - the same? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-01-2012, 07:16 AM Thread Starter
Cat

Feral, barn cat - the same?

I have posted in the "introduce yourself" forum about a kitty I have been feeding for the past 8 months. She comes now to within 4 ft. of me when I feed her. I know she is a fixed female, her ear is tipped. I made a little house for her for the winter, but it broke my heart, sometimes she stayed outside with snow falling on her. I have a havaheart trap which I am going to use to try and bring her in, in about 4 - 5 weeks. When I talk to her, she rolls around on the ground and rubs her head on everything. I think I am slowly gaining her trust. Will that trust be lost when I have to trap her to bring her in? I have another inside cat, but I have made a room for the outside cat, with a screen door and plexi glass, bought a big cat tree, and a few smaller cat trees. I cannot go another winter watching her outside in 10 degree weather. Is there a difference between "barn" cat and feral?, we believe that is what she was - barn cat. Please, any encouragement, advice, would be greatly appreciated. I am praying I can get her in!
Sally
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-01-2012, 04:59 PM
Cat

The others here have a lot more experience than me, but I caught my Josie using a trap. I thought she was feral and wanted to get her spayed, so I borrowed a trap and put it on the porch for a week or so to get her used to it. When it was time to trap, she went right in within minutes. As it turned out, she was already spayed and therefore had been someone's pet at one time. No one was looking for her, no one responded to my found report, and no microchip. She did not hold the trapping against me at all. I think she was so relieved to be in from the elements and very grateful. My only regret is that I waited so long.

Good luck! Thank you for caring for this little one!