A new milestone with Arwen :) - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

A new milestone with Arwen :)

My little feral girl, Arwen, I've been caring for her for going on two years now. She went from being the poor little scrawny, drab gray kitty that ate from garbage cans to tolerating me sitting near her, and slowly we made more steps toward her trusting me. First it was the brush up against my leg, then lightly petting her head. It took FOREVER for her to trust me enough to pet her back. Now, I can pet her all over, scratch her chin, even touch her sides and belly. All of this was very gradual, but each step made my heart so happy. I can even lift her up under her front arms, as if to lift her, but she does not want me to lift her off the ground, so I don't, but she's cool with the "half-lift", so I take it. Well, yesterday, I was sitting outside in a chair, and got some cat treats, put them on my lap to see if she would jump onto my lap, and she did. She has done this once before, but she ate the treats and jumped back down right away. Yesterday, she actually stayed on my lap!!!!! For about 3-4 minutes!!! She did not sit, but she kneaded my legs and she let me pet her back, and even rubbed her head against my shirt. It was another step for us. It was very sweet. I'm hoping that one day she will settle down onto my lap and stay there, but I know this is foreign to her and she may never do that, but it was just another one of those YAY moments with Arwen, that made me so happy. She is now lovable with my hubby too, and he is always encouraging her to come into the garage, which she will walk in there for a few but she won't sit in there or stay in there, but we are hopeful she will come around.

Just thought I'd share this, since it was such a happy moment for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2013, 04:17 PM
Cat Addict