Is it Ok to leave feral cat in my garage all night? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-03-2014, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

Is it Ok to leave feral cat in my garage all night?

Ok, that sounded like a stupid question, but I'm really second guessing myself right this moment, at 12:30 am. My feral cat, Arwen, who I have been caring for for several years now, and who has been the resident feral cat in my neighborhood for 5-7 years, well, she trusts me now. She loves me and I absolutely adore her. I'm in Florida, and I know our Florida winters here seem horrendous to us thin skinned Floridians, but it is supposed to get cold tonight, 40's. We are having some pretty big wind gusts too. Arwen has gotten used to coming into my garage with the door cracked, during the day, and will sleep on a cozy little bed I have in there and leave when the sun comes out, since she would prefer to bask in the sunlight. She sleeps by my door, but at times, other strays in the neighborhood will run her off or fight with her. She is not a confrontational cat, and she is small. She will step aside to another cat who tries to eat her food. She is a bush dweller, prefers to lay on the ground, which scares me to death.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, after I could see she had been in a fight and had not been sleeping by my door, I presume she was hiding from the aggressive cat, I trapped her inside my garage and had her sleep in there for the night. She mewed a little bit, eventually must have settled down, because I didn't hear her, and I let her out promptly at 5:30 am, when I get up. She ran out right away, but as soon as she heard me open my front door to feed her, she ran right back, so all seemed well, she didn't seem too trauamtized.