Female Feral Cat - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Female Feral Cat

Hello,

I have been feeding a female feral cat for 7 months now (Dec to Jun) and have yet to see her pregnant. She looks to be around 2 years old. I would think that she would have gotten pregnant by now since she is friendly with a male feral. I can take her to the Humane Society to have her spayed but wonder if she maybe is infertile and spaying would be unnecessary. Thank you and regards.

Diane
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 08:32 AM
Banned

It could also be that she is not a true feral, but an abandoned/escaped pet who has already been spayed.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

She is definitely feral. When I first saw her in Dec (which in Ottawa, Canada, the temperature was way below zero), if she even got a glimpse of me in the window she would take off. I started putting food under a tree about 40 feet from house and she would eat it. It took many months but I now have her coming to me when I call her for food and can even pick her up. We have 3 cats (2 males and 1 female) and she is very afraid of them, especially the female. We would like to bring her into the house but our cats will not tolerate her. If I was to take her to be spayed, would the vet be able to tell if she has already been spayed?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-13-2014, 11:12 AM
Cool Cat

Quote:
Originally Posted by feral View Post