Feral cat mom here dreading the winter - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-12-2014, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Cat Addict

Feral cat mom here dreading the winter

I live in Florida, so I know I'm very lucky, we have some nights that get down in the 30's, but it usually warms back up to at least almost 50. We did have a fairly cold winter last winter, and Arwen, my feral, I have been caring for her for over 3 years now. Last winter was the first winter that I convinced her to come into my garage at night, to sleep. And she did. Sometimes she even stayed all day in the garage, and she'd go out for a few hours in the afternoon and then come back at night. Arwen is getting old. We believe she is maybe 8 years old, but possibly even older. She is starting to look it. I love my girl. I'm kind of looking forward to her sleeping in the garage again this winter, at least I know she's safe at night. I'm sure all of the other's here who care for ferals feel the dread of the cold weather too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-12-2014, 11:14 PM
Premier Cat

Winter will be here before we know it...
This is definitely the time to start thinking ahead to what we can do for any cats that are stuck outside, having to fend for themselves, sometimes in truly brutal weather...
Shelter, water source that won't freeze, and extra food, since they burn up a lot of calories trying to stay warm...
Cats do freeze to death, suffer frost bite, get sick, etc...
So whatever we can do...helps.

"A Cat must have three different names:
An everyday family name; A particular name;
And the name but the Cat Himself Knows, and will never confess." T.S. Eliot

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-13-2014, 12:16 AM
Cat