Bird or cat calls? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-24-2015, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Tom Cat

Bird or cat calls?

Since I've moved into my new house about two months ago I've met our local outdoor cats. I never see them at night- I think they are owned and assume their people bring them in at night- but occasionally I hear mewling close to the house outside. Of course when I go to look for them I don't see them. I don't even see fresh paw prints in the snow. Is it possible that it is an owl or some other bird calling at night?

The last two places I lived had mockingbirds that would sing all night. I'm really hoping it is not one of them. I doubt it since those guys do not stop calling and this mewling is once or twice a night and then quiet.

Since I'm new to this property I worry a lot about these cats that are let outside on our very busy street and until I know they are all owned by someone- fed, fixed and vetted- I'm just going to be paranoid about their welfare. As long as I hear the mewling I'm going to run outside and investigate just in case but if it's a bird I'm just going to kick up the tv another notch and ignore it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-25-2015, 02:17 AM
Cat

Try trapping one. If it hiss its feral. Before I started the trapping I would hear meowing at night alot. After TNR 14 ferals I haven't heard anything. Now just dogs barking and I know they're coming home to eat. Plus some owners are irresponsible and dont neuter or spay their pets and you hear the fighting or meowing when its mating season. even if the cats are not ferals if the vet are in the TNR program they will fix the cat. So it doesn't hurt to trap the cat and bring to the vet to have it fixed. With TNR the cost could be free or $10-$25 depending where you live.

Last edited by deanna79; 01-25-2015 at 02:22 AM.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-08-2015, 03:49 AM
Premier Cat