Wet food freezes outside - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2016, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Wet food freezes outside

I have a feral colony that I feed in a busy shopping plaza. I've TNR all of them and have been feeding them canned food and providing clean water. They always have dry food available but they really like their wet food. It's been getting very cold and their water bowls and canned food freezes quickly.

I've tried adding a little bit of very hot water to the food to make it warm and soupy. They love it, but it starts freezing in about 20 mins. The cats have a pecking order so the dominant ones eat first followed by the younger, smaller ones. By the time the underlings get to the food its pretty cold.

With their water freezing I want to at least get their wet food into them.

What do you all feed your ferals during the very cold months?

(I am still learning. This is my first TNR/colony. Thanks for any advice)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2016, 06:34 PM
Cool Cat

Not sure how much you want to spend on your colony, but you could consider something like these:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2016, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Cat

Thanks for the links but unfortunately, I don't have access to electricity. They are living behind a busy shopping center. I would love to be able to provide them with heated bowls/houses but the best I've been able to do is hide a few insulated totes behind the bushes and feed them at night.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2016, 09:42 PM
Cat Addict

Yes, it's a problem in winter. Some people use these discs that heat up in a microwave. You can put the bowl of wet food on top of them.