Pesky raccoon chases ferals - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2016, 07:55 AM Thread Starter
Kitten

Pesky raccoon chases ferals

Good morning,
I'm new to this site so let me tell you a little about myself. I have 4 cats that are exclusively indoor cats. I feed about 6 - 9 cats in my backyard each day. Four of the cats will take treats from hand and allow me to pet them. The others barely tolerate my presence. They were trapped and spayed or neutered 2 years ago. I am a teacher so I am not working for the summer. When I am working I usually feed the cats at about 6:30 am. My husband used to take the food in after about an hour since he left for work later. Unfortunately he became ill and passed away this past April. Since then the food was left out all day. I take the food in before it gets dark.
My problem is a pesky raccoon that has been coming out during the day to eat the food. Since I am not working in the summer, I can take the food in as soon as most of the cats have eaten and put it out again around 5:00 pm. The raccoon has figured out the feeding schedule and comes around for the food. When I chase the raccoon, the cats run away also.
Any ideas on ways to keep the raccoon away or a raccoon proof feeding station would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2016, 08:41 AM
Cat Addict

This has been kicked around in the past by those who feed ferals. You can make an elevated feeding station, like a pedestal, that cats jump up on. Sometimes it needs flashing or something else on the sides, but the idea is that cats can jump very well and raccoons can't. Google the phrase "raccoons can't jump" for some photos.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-12-2016, 10:40 AM Thread Starter
Kitten