raw diet opinions? - Cat Forum : Cat Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2008, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
Cat

raw diet opinions?

I've read very good words on the raw diet. Theoretically it sounds great, cats did evolve to eat meat plus, when you make your own food you can be sure that they are getting proper nutrition assuming you get the proper recipe.

My vet is very much against raw diets. She says the risk for bacterial infections is too high especially for things like Salmonella, Camplobacter, and E coli. I can understand that as well. I'm actually a medical student and although the human stomach's pH can go down to 1 during digestion, raw foods are also risky for humans.

But assuming that I am very careful with the source of the meat (I'm thinking of getting whole rabbit carcass cut into chewable pieces since much of the bacterial infection is from grinding meat and mixing meat from an infected animal with meat from other animals), storage, and get a proper recipe, is this ideal compared to highly respected cat food brands like Wellness?

What were the opinions your vets had?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2008, 06:19 PM
Tom Cat

I have had vets yell at me and say that I will be doing harm to my cats. I just leave them with information that they can't disprove and ended up taking my business elsewhere. To a holistic vet

One thing you have to remember about vets is that they are trained in school to feed commercial dry food. Because they think that is the best. Which as most of us know is a bunch of crap. When they hear raw they panic, for one they are minimally trained in pet nutrition and two they think the risk of possible bacterial infections out ways the benefits that they see in raw if in fact they see any.